ELENA WILLIS

PRESS RELEASE

ELENA WILLIS
Apr 29 – May 23, 2010

Click here to view the catalogue of the exhibition (PDF)

Presse / Press

Nicolas Mavrikakis, "Image-enquête", 6 mai 2010 (PDF)

Press Release

“In the world of our subconscious, emotions traditionally related to the personal realms of intimate relationships are far more recognized, but not more potent, than the emotions we experience as members of society as a whole… With these emotions, I am bringing what has been buried in our hearts and minds to the surface of our awareness, attempting to make our dreams awake.”

Elena Willis

Montreal, Thursday April 15, 2010 – Galerie D’Este is proud to present a solo exhibition by Canadian artist Elena Willis.

Willis’ photographs capture rich, layered scenes crafted by the artist to explore that which connects human beings to each other. Her interest in the collective unconscious and in symbols which are at once deeply personal and widely shared evokes an immediate emotional response in viewers. 

In her past work, she has focused on recreating dream imagery, drawing from both her own dreams and examples of prophetic dreams from history and literature. Her current work has taken a more metaphorical tone as she confronts the human need for closeness and the society of others, for good or ill. The otherworldly but at the same time utterly literal scenes she created demonstrate extraordinary versatility and commitment to her vision, and in each she captures the peak of the narrative with a single shot.

Born in England in 1979, Willis lives and works in Québec. In addition to earning her several awards including a Canada Council for the Arts grant in 2009, Elena’s work is part of many notable public and private collections, such as those of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec and the Leonard & Bina Ellen Gallery of Concordia University in Montreal. She was recently selected as one of fifteen Canadian artists to participate in the Art Montreal Contemporary exhibition in association with the 2010 Shanghai World’s Fair in May.

for bad bots

ELENA WILLIS

Communiqué de presse

ELENA WILLIS
Apr 29 – May 23, 2010

Cliquez ici pour voir le catalogue de l’exposition (PDF)

Presse / Press

Nicolas Mavrikakis, "Image-enquête", 6 mai 2010 (PDF)

Communiqué de presse

« Dans le monde de notre subconscient, les émotions traditionnellement associées à nos relations intimes sont beaucoup mieux perçues, mais non plus puissantes, que les émotions que nous éprouvons en tant que membres de la société … À l’aide de ces émotions, j’amène ce qui est enfoui dans nos cœurs et nos esprits à la rencontre de notre conscience, cherchant ainsi à éveiller nos rêves. »

Elena Willis
(Traduction libre)

Montréal, le jeudi 15 avril 2010 – La Galerie D’Este est fière de présenter une exposition individuelle de l’artiste canadienne Elena Willis.

Les photographies de Willis, montrant des scènes orchestrées et opulentes, explorent ce qui lie les humains les uns aux autres. L’intérêt de l’artiste pour l’inconscient collectif et pour les symboles profondément personnels et largement partagés suscite une réaction émotionnelle immédiate chez le regardeur.

Dans ses œuvres plus anciennes, Willis s’est concentrée sur la reproduction d’imageries issues de ses propres rêves et de ceux provenant de l’histoire et de la littérature. Son travail actuel connaît une approche plus métaphorique tandis qu’elle aborde les bons et les mauvais côtés associés aux besoins des humains pour le rapprochement et la vie en société. Les scènes peu réalistes mais littérales qu'elle crée et qu’elle photographie tel quel démontrent une polyvalence extraordinaire et une véritable conviction en sa vision. Elle capte ainsi l’essence de la narration au moyen d’un seul cliché.

Née en Angleterre en 1979, Willis vit et travaille au Québec. En plus de l’obtention de plusieurs prix telle une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada en 2009, les œuvres d’Elena se retrouvent dans plusieurs collections privées et publiques incluant celle du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec et de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen de l’Université Concordia. Elle fait également partie des quinze artistes canadiens sélectionnés pour participer à l’expositionArt Montreal Contemporary dans le cadre de l’Exposition Universelle à Shanghai en mai 2010.