MEGAN HERWIG

BIOGRAPHY

(b.1983)

Megan Herwig was born in rural Pennsylvania, spent time in New England and the Pacific Northwest and now resides in the city of Pittsburgh with her husband and gray cat. She received a BFA in painting from Montserrat College of Art in 2005 and an MFA from the School of the Museum of Fine Arts at Tufts University in 2013.

She creates collages of imaginary homesteads that, although located in a landless landscape, are very much inspired by the remoteness and quiet solitude found in the midst of nature. She is searching for the transformative experiences that happen when alone in the vast expanses of the desert or nestled tightly among the trees.

Megan was recently awarded a Traveling Fellowship from SMFA at Tufts and immediately embarked on a series of road trips using the National Parks System as a framework through the west. She photographed all the structures and varying landscapes along the way, and her current work is based on them.

www.meganherwig.com

MEGAN HERWIG

BIOGRAPHIE

(n. 1983)

Née dans une campagne rurale de la Pennsylvanie, Megan Herwig a partagé sa vie entre la Nouvelle-Angleterre et le nord-ouest du pacifique avant de s’installer à Pittsburgh avec son époux et son chat gris. Elle est détentrice d’un BFA en peinture décerné par le Montserrat College of Art en 2005 et d’un MFA de la School of The Museum of Fine Arts de l’Université Tufts en 2013.

L’artiste crée des collages représentant des propriétés imaginaires qui, bien que dénuées de paysage, restent très inspirées par l'éloignement et la solitude que l’on peut ressentir lorsqu’on se retrouve au beau milieu de la nature. Elle recherche les expériences transformatrices qui se produisent lorsque l’on se retrouve seules dans les vastes étendus du désert ou bien nichées dans les arbres.

Nouvellement récipiendaire d’une bourse de mobilité décernée par la SMFA de l’Université Tufts, Megan Herwig a parcouru les parcs nationaux américains afin de trouver un cadre de travail représentatif de l’ouest. Lors de ce périple, l’artiste a photographié plusieurs structures architecturales et différents paysages qui ont inspirés ses plus récents travaux.

www.meganherwig.com