ANDY CURLOWE

BIOGRAPHY

(b. 1984)

Born 1984 in Schenectady, NY.  Lives and works in Cleveland, OH.

In his newest series of paintings, Curlowe explores the juxtaposition of nature and industry while reflecting upon his recent travels through Scotland. These works reflect the dramatic and cyclical history etched into the Scottish Highlands. Once a lush forest covered in trees, Scotland’s now iconic landscape of open vistas, awash in heather and moss, is an illustration of human reinvention, appropriation and second wave conservation.

Scotland’s landscape saw a dramatic shift 5,000 years ago during the Neolithic Era, when a climate shift rendered the once dense forests largely uninhabitable for native trees. As agriculture slowly developed among local populations, land was further cleared for grazing livestock and lumber was harvested for industry. By the early 1900’s, the majority of forestland had been razed by the human hand. In the early 1930’s, less than 10% of Scotland’s forest remained. Industry had reinvented an already shifting landscape to better serve human needs. World War II brought new demands to the hills and valleys of Scotland. The United Kingdom’s need for lumber supply inspired rapid changes with the cultivation of new and managed forests, populated with fast growing, non-native trees. Densely planted, rigid, foreign and quickly harvested - this was not the forest of Scotland’s past, but a renewable and reinvented design intended to best serve the immediate needs of a growing world at war. Today these controlled and cultivated forests, inundated with human design, intention, and oversight, is less than in keeping with modern ideas of conservation. New efforts are underway to restore some of the indigenous forest that has been wiped from recent memory.

Three worlds are on display in Scotland today as rolling hills, crags, and moss come to a head with managed geometric forests of human invention, contrasting with the new slow-growth, organic plantings of indigenous trees that are meant to re-envision a lost landscape and to support a forgotten wildlife. The human hand can’t seem to stop altering, even when attempting to re-create what was once organic. The paintings explore the perception of authenticity. What is desired in a landscape restoration? Can these three worlds co-exist, or is learned history indelible? 

Within these works, vertical and rigid elements strike through linen canvas in orderly rows. Geometric planes break apart the landscape into utilitarian confines of human development and ownership. Architectural lines grow and superimpose upon implied land masses, as industry reacts to human need and consumption. Each of these elements penetrates the unified fields of purple, ochre and green that evoke heather and moss undergrowth, and form the stage of human curation. 

curlowe.com

 

Video Interview: Andy Curlowe from CPAC (Vimeo)

ANDY CURLOWE

BIOGRAPHIE

(b. 1984)

 

Né en 1984 à Schenectady, NY. Vit et travaille à Cleveland, Ohio.

 

Dans ce corpus, Curlowe explore, suite à un voyage récent en Écosse, la juxtaposition de la nature et de l'exploitation humaine. Ces œuvres sont une réflection sur l'histoire dramatique et cyclique gravée dans la région montagneuse écossaise. Auparavant une forêt luxuriante recouverte d'arbres, le paysage maintenant iconique de l'Écosse constitué de vues ouvertes, parsemé de bruyère et de mousse, montre l'intervention humaine, l'appropriation ainsi que les répercussions découlant de la deuxième vague se concentrant sur la protection de l'environnement. 

Le paysage de l'Écosse a drastiquement changé depuis l'ère néolithique il y a 5000 ans lorsque le changement climatique a transformé les forêts denses, en grande partie non favorables au développement d'arbres indigènes. Tandis que l'agriculture lentement se développe parmi les populations locales, les terres se dégagent pour l'élevage du bétail et les arbes se font abattre pour favoriser l'industrialisation. Au début des années 1900, la majorité des territoires forestiers ont été rasés par l'homme. Au début des années 1930, moins de 10% de la forêt de l'Écosse demeurait intact. L'industrie avait réinventé un paysage déjà changeant pour mieux servir des besoins humains. La Deuxième Guerre mondiale a apporté d'autres changements aux collines et aux vallées de l'Écosse. Les besoins du Royaume-Uni en approvisionnement de bois de charpente ont inspiré des changements soudain dans le développement des forêts aménagées et peuplées d'arbres exotiques à croissance rapide. Densément plantée, rigide, étrangère et rapidement abattue - il ne s'agit pas de la forêt de l'Écosse du passé, devenue renouvelable et toujours à réinventer, conçue pour mieux servir les besoins immédiats du monde en guerre. Aujourd'hui, ces forêts contrôlées et cultivées sont issues de la conception humaine selon laquelle l'intention et la surveillance sont moins que conformes aux idées modernes de la conservation. De nombreux efforts sont en branle pour restaurer une partie de la forêt indigène aujourd'hui effacée de la mémoire collective.

Trois mondes cohabitent en Écosse aujourd'hui. Les terrains accidentés, les rochers escarpés et la mousse côtoient les forêts géométriques issues de l'intervention humaine ainsi que la plantation biologique d'arbres indigènes à croissance lente afin d'améliorer le paysage perdu et de faire revivre la nature oubliée. La main de l'homme ne peut s'empêcher de changer la nature même lorsque celui-ci essaie de recréer ce qui existait autrefois. Les peintures de Curlowe explorent la notion d'authenticité. Quel est le but d'une restauration du paysage ? Ces trois mondes peuvent-ils coexister ?

Dans ces oeuvres, des formes verticales et rigides se succèdent sur la toile de lin. Des figures géométriques divisent le paysages en sections qui rappellent le développement humain et l'appropriation. Les compositions dans lequelles les lignes architecturales s'agrandissent et se superposent dans le paysage montrent comment l'industrie répond aux besoins de la société de consommation. Ces éléments s'infiltrent dans les zones de pourpre, d'ocre et de vert, évoquant ainsi le paysage, ses sous-bois de bruyère et sa mousse, devenu assise de l'aménagement humaine.

 

curlowe.com

 

Capsule video : Andy Curlowe from CPAC (Vimeo)